Trigger up: The artist still known as clueless and inconsiderate.

05/27/2012

Mild trigger warning for transphobic/clueless/inconsiderate crap, all caps style ranting. xo, RD

me: “Actually, I go by [my preferred name] now.”

clueless: “Yeah, but I can never remember that! so I just call you ‘the artist formerly known as ____!”

me: “I really don’t like that.”

clueless: “I just never remember! I always say ____ and people correct me and I go, ‘oh, you know who I mean!'”

clueless continues by calling me by the wrong pronouns without any space for me to interject, etc.

me: “okay, uh, bye! uh, nice running into you!” <<<this is a lie. i wish we’d run into someone else :(

clueless and their friend depart.

me: “[sweetheart], can i rant for a minute?”

sweetheart: “yes!”

me: “OH MY GOSH, IT MUST BE SO HARD FOR YOU THAT MY NAME HAS CHANGED! JUST AS HARD AS IT WAS FOR ME, GETTING CALLED BY THE WRONG NAME FOR YEARS! OHHH I’M SOOO SORRRY! HOW INCONSIDERATE OF ME, CHANGING MY NAME ON YOU LIKE THIS!”

sweetheart: “feel better?”

me: “MUCH. much better.”

[adorableness+handholding+kissin+squeeing recommence]

 

Leave a Reply

